RSS Feed

We Took a Bite Out of the Big Apple… Part 1

Posted on

Or more like 10 or 20 bites.

We came home tired. That’s an understatement… Exhausted, wiped out, and completely thrilled to have spent 5 days wandering around one of the most diverse, large, and captivating cities in the entire world. Jeffrey was sick with a nasty cold, and I felt like I had been mugged by the sandman. Pretty good signs that we pushed ourselves to the limit and saw about as much as possible in 5 days!

After arriving in Newark on Saturday and checking into our hotel in Fort Lee, NJ we hopped on the MTA subway and headed to the “Big City”. We decided to get off at about 6th street thinking we’d be close to… something? So we get off, grab a bite at McD’s – I realize we were in NYC and we should have been eating pizza or hot dogs or something more new york – But honestly, we were so hungry I probably could have eaten a whole cow IF I could have afforded it. Who’s ever heard of a McD’s that charges 10 bucks for a meal? And no dollar menu? Clearly I would starve in NY. Hey wait, thats probably a great diet idea! OFF TRACK – anyway, once we ate and were in much better moods we dropped into a barnes and noble grabbed a map and were off!

We had to walk about 30+ blocks north (and I am completely NOT exaggerating) to get to times square in the misting rain, but once we got there it was pretty cool! Even cooler when you’ve got a weird obsession with marketing and advertising (me). So we checked out all the ads and took in the sights. There weren’t as many ppl as I had expected, but still a lot.

I had to capture the beauty of the BIGGEST diet coke ever!

I had to capture the beauty of the BIGGEST diet coke ever!

WE MADE IT! I remember being little and falling asleep in daddys lap while he was watching david letterman...

WE MADE IT! I remember being little and falling asleep in daddy's lap while he was watching david letterman...

Then we just started popping into random stores and candy shops. Times Square may be an advertisers dream – but really, its like a 9 year olds heaven. Candy stores without end, the BIGGEST toys’R’us ever, and more… Needless to say, my brother didn’t stand a chance of getting bored this day. Neither did the other 3 neverland children…

In front of the Ferris Wheel INSIDE toysrus

In front of the Ferris Wheel INSIDE toys'r'us

 

They had a mini LegoLand

They had a mini LegoLand

There was also a dinosaur, and his eyes were CREEPY

There was also a dinosaur, and his eyes were CREEPY

After roaming times square we found ourselves stumbling upon rockefeller center (where the Top of the Rock, winter skating, and the big tree can be found) and so we sat on a bench to rest our already tiring legs, and take in the sights.

Rockefeller Center - and its much smaller twin

Rockefeller Center - and its much smaller twin

 

)

New York, New York! 🙂

As we started walking again, and all hope for finding Nintendo World was lost, we literally stumbled into it at the end of a street. (Nintendo really should work on its outdoor appearance and advertising) So we were all lost in there for a good hour or so. My brother rocked out to Guitar Hero, I dominated some old school nintendo, and Jeff went around killing people (not real people, the Wii kind).

After the strenuous excercise in Nintendo bliss we were pooped. So we grabbed a bite at times square applebees – overpriced and ridiculous – this was the last stop at a familiar restraunt until we arrived back in atlanta. That pretty much sums up day 1 in New York.

I’ll work on days 2-5 later. Don’t worry… days 2 and 3 mirror eachother, day 4 will be all about the Yankees, and day 5 was only hotel time and a plane trip! So I won’t keep writing your eyes off for each day we were gone…

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. hotel time with my dad and brother? TMI? hmmm… i have NO clue as to what you might be referring to… 😉

    Reply
  2. Sounds like you might have had a good time :-)) Had a mini Legoland.. I went to the original Legoland in Denmark.. http://www.legoland.dk/?lc=en
    If was anything like that it was cool. You are supposed to go to New York DELIS while you are there!! You know that Deli “Ova Dere” 🙂 I am glad you got the expeience of walking around in a BIG city. I had the pleasure in Paris. Like you we got off the train and thought we would just walk everywhere…:-(( “but the Eiffel Tower is right there” ugh. Can’t wait for days 2-5 except I don’t think I need to hear about only Hotel Time…TMI

    Reply

Leave a Reply

