RSS Feed

Jewelry Organization – DIY

Posted on

So for those of you who don’t have jewelry boxes or just don’t like them (like me) here I’ve found a functional way to display the jewels. I always found that when I was using a jewelry box I would forget about certain pieces or just neglect to accessorize all together.

For earrings I was able to solve this problem a long time ago. I cannot remember where I got the idea, but I saw someone take one of those plastic crossstich boards and weave ribbon around the edges and tie it at the top. I think they turn out pretty cute and you can do almost any color combo you want to. These also make great gifts for girls who just got their ears pierced. I need to update mine to match our bathroom colors, but you still get the idea…

The necklace delimma was not so easy for me to solve. Out of sight – out of mind has always been a problem for me when it comes to accessorizing. In college I would put tacks inside my cabinet doors and I remembered more often, but still wasn’t wearing ALL my neclaces because I would forget when I was wearing an outfit that matched a certain neclace. But it was the best solution to date so when I moved in with my hubby in January, I was going to do the same thing in our apartment but the tacks would NOT go into the cabinet doors without breaking off. So after some thought (and untangling a mass of cords, beads, and chains because in the move i tucked my neclaces into an old makeup bag) I took a cork board and put thumb tacks in… only to see my idea oneup-ed in a magazine this month 😦 oh well – at least I’m semi-creative, right? Well they took a cute piece of fabric and covered the cork and THEN stuck in the push-tacks. I don’t have fabric, but my neclaces, bracelets (all 2 of them) and my rings are out on display all the time and I wear one EVERYDAY now! I love it!

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. Pingback: How To Organize… Your Jewelry « Laughter. Life. Us.

Leave a Reply

