RSS Feed

First Days with EDS and the CDC

Posted on

From Jeffrey –

I started my new job Wednesday! I’ll give the play by play. I got there at nine and they issued me my gun….and then I met Jack Bauer who had just finished up his meeting with Will Smith. I’m pretty much going to be fighting terrorists wherever they live, one map at a time!

On a more realistic note, the last two days have been very slow because my computer login and USERID are still not set up. Wednesday was composed of watching someone else do GIS and going to a different CDC office to get some paperwork done. Yesterday consisted of sitting at my desk for six hours and reading materials that they gave me… Until I get my computer login I can’t really do anything so I am playing the waiting game.

They told me about this place called the DEOC where I’ll be working alot. DEOC stands for Director’s Emergency Operations Center. Basically, it is the HQ for the CDC big shots and it has to be manned by a GIS professional at all times. When an emergency breaks out and they need to make decisions, a GIS person has to then start popping out maps of the area. I will have a regular shift there about two or three times a month and if an emergency were to occur I could end up being there late into the night! 

I met the director of the GIS group today and he is a very nice guy and so far I have liked the rest of the people that are in the group as well. There are around 15 of us and I am the youngest one there. Maybe I am slightly ahead of the curve! I am very excited about the job and cannot wait to get started as soon as all my computer stuff gets set up! 

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

