RSS Feed

Office Progress

Posted on

Besides a minor painting project and J needing to fix a curtain rod so it won’t come crashing down, things are done (for now).

This room was challenging for me because I really wanted a space that I could enjoy working in, but I didn’t want to spend much on the space. I also didn’t really own any one piece that was dictating a direction. However, once I spotted the pillows at HomeGoods that I showed you here, I was able to envision how I wanted things and go with it. Funny how 2 little pillows inspired my whole room.

The other challenge was that our office needed to house a lot of different areas for activities the J and I enjoy. There were several things I wanted this room to house:

Scrapbook Stuff. I wanted an area for me to be able to scrapbook in… figuring if I had a great place to work I might actually be able to do it more often. If I don’t have to completely clean-up after each crafting session, it’ll be easier to jump in and continue where I left off. This also means the room has to hold ALL of my photos.

Computer. While we do have a laptop, I wanted desk space for us to be able to work on the computer and be able to file/organize important paperwork and manage the bills/budget. We need a desk area to do this so we don’t end up with a kitchen table full of “Things to Do”. And lets face it, sometimes you get a little more done from a desk instead of a couch in front of a TV.

Music. J loves to play the guitar and occasionally the trumpet. I’ve tried my hand a time or two at guitar as well. I want this to be something that we can easily do without having to dig to the back of a closet to pull out our instruments and music. I know he’d love to just come home, sit down on the couch and play a song or two.

Sleeping. Speaking of our hand-me-down foldout couch, while I was planning this room it was the only space we had to offer to overnight guests and since we plan on turning one of our other bedrooms into a guest room down the road, the couch will live in the office for now which means the space needs to be planned for the couch to be out and not affecting these other areas.

That’s a lot of stuff to cram into one room, but I am really happy with the way things are turning out.

Here is a sneak-peek of the desk area:

The shelves still need to be painted black (see the paint sitting on the desk?), and eventually the old desk will be replaced with {hopefully} a pretty black writing desk. But things are definitely coming along!

More updates soon. I promise.

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: New Year, Fresh Start « Laughter. Life. Us.

  2. I LOVE that you post your home improvements. You inspire me! 🙂 I love the desk space! And I like the blonde wood. I think it would look great if you kept it like that instead of painting it black…
    Don’t be surprised if you come to our house and see something similar 😉
    I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

