RSS Feed

When I Get Where I’m Goin’

Posted on

I got an email today from an awesome photographer and family friend, David Dale. He attended my Grandpa’s funeral back in April. In fact, he dropped everything and came to the hospital when he heard how serious things were. For this, I am so grateful. It was warming to have a friendly, familiar shoulder for me (and Grammy would agree, I’m sure) to lean on when my Dad was across the country in California and my husband was home in Georgia.

Anyway, he took a few shots at the funeral and graveside which are hard photos to look at. But there is one that is absolutely stunning to me and that I will cherish. Here is my favorite.

It holds the emotion and feeling of that day. The day was gorgeous. It was uncharacteristically warm and you couldn’t find a single cloud in the sky. This photo holds so much emotion, so much love, so much hope — for me anyway. And what I really love is that it’s a picture I can put up on my wall and others can enjoy the beauty, while I can see the beauty but also FEEL the moment. The moment where I know that my grandfather isn’t hurting, he isn’t sick, and he is with my mom, his daughter, rejoicing with Jesus.

Thanks David for taking a few pictures. They mean a lot.

And here are a few Brad Paisley lyrics that I just love…

When I get where I’m going,
there’ll be only happy tears.
I will shed the sins and struggles,
I have carried all these years.
And I’ll leave my heart wide open,
I will love and have no fear.
Yeah when I get where I’m going,
Don’t cry for me down here.

I’m gonna walk with my grandaddy,
and he’ll match me step for step,
and I’ll tell him how I missed him,
every minute since he left.
Then I’ll hug his neck.

So much pain and so much darkness,
in this world we stumble through.
All these questions, I can’t answer,
so much work to do.

But when I get where I’m going,
and I see my Maker’s face.
I’ll stand forever in the light,
of His amazing grace.

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.

