RSS Feed

Sofa? Couch? Davenport?

Posted on

… whaddya call it? Online search seems to like it best when i use the term ‘sofa’ whereas we refer to it as a ‘couch’ and my Grandma calls it a ‘davenport’. Hmm?

We’ve been doing more demolition/remodeling on Devonshire Way. Which is making us itch for some new sofas. 2 in fact. Probably not happening tomorrow, but its always fun to screen-shop.

Here’s what I know:

  • I don’t want microfiber. Too messy looking.
  • As much as I enjoy leather furniture, leather is probably not an option for us right now. Besides being too expensive, its not the most puppy friendly material. Maybe in a chair?
  • J and I must each be able to lay the length of the sofa comfortably
  • I’d really prefer to have backs and seat cushions that are removable so I can throw them in the wash (Ours say not to, but I do it occasionally anyway)
  • I love to be able to see the legs of furniture, so no skirts allowed!
  • Nailhead trim would be awesome. Not a deal-breaker, but I’d really like to have it.

Initially I was leaning towards grey (gray?) sofas BUT affordable, cute, and comfy sofas seem to be hard to come by in grey SO we might go taupe.

Here are some possible contenders:

Haverty's Darrington Pewter

Havertys Darrington Pumice

Haverty's Zoe

Online Retailer : Grey Nailhead

Pier1 Carmen Sofa

Macys Sylvia

Macys Chloe (The couch on the right is in the color we'll look at)

Macys Jacqueline (also comes in 'storm' which we're hoping is a pretty grey)

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

4 responses »

  1. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog soon
    but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: SOfa Comfy! « Laughter. Life. Us.

  3. How funny, we just ordered the Macy’s Jacqueline (so comfy, but still very firm when tried in store!)! We had EXACTLY the same criteria as your bullets.

    FYI, the Jacqueline is not standard microfiber, but is some variation of it that supposedly cleans as easily, but feels more smooth/velvety. We got it in pool (icy/pale blue, lighter than Tiffany blue) since we don’t have a puppy (yet) or kids, but the Storm is a really lovely pale gray (would hide puppy drool/dirt more easily probably!).

    We’re just but aren’t sure it’ll fit through our front door/entry given how deep/long it is. Really don’t want to return it or have to bring it in through a window (2nd floor!). Was just googling to see if anyone else had reviewed/had issues moving the sofa.

    We looked at the Chloe too, but found its cushions a lot less firm/too squishy and got worried about that a couple years down the road–may have been the couch we tested. I love the design though!

    Where’s that lovely “Online Retailer: Gray Nailhead” couch from?

    Btw, your birthday is a day after mine…no wonder you have such fab taste. 😉

    Reply
    • GeminiBelle –

      Thanks for the info. We’ll hopefully get into an actual store sometime in the next 2 weeks. 🙂 More fun than just looking at photos… also more tiring and time consuming, so research and advice ahead is helpful!

      I couldn’t remember the retailer of the online sofa… but i just found it with a quick google search. It’s from homedecorators.com

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Kylie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

