RSS Feed

Inspiration Files – Dining Room

Posted on

So after my post yesterday, I went digging thru my inspiration files and found a few great photos of where we go from here.

Primary Inspiration

This photo was one I found right after we decided to paint our room Bermudan Sea. I love SO many things about this photo. The older looking table with the dark finish, the ticking stripe cushions on the chairs, ceiling height curtains, and bamboo shades. It has a formalish feel without coming off stuffy. Pretty much the only thing I don’t love is the head of table chairs. They just look too clumsy and large for the space. And I think I’d prefer to try a drum shade over the table instead of the chandelier, but maybe that adds a formal flair to the space?

This is much darker than our room, but I kind of like mixing a few lighter chairs in with the dark room. However, because we painted a lighter color below our chair rail keeping things in darker tones probably is best. I can always paint them lighter color later on.

I can’t decide if I like the look of mixed seating or not? Well, I like looking at this photo, I’m just not sure if I could live with it every day. If you ask J he would immediately nix this idea because of his wife’s tendency to be obsessed with symmetry.

Like the neutral rug to anchor the space, and the pops of lime green. I’m not digging the blue chairs with blue walls.

And here there are pops of yellow instead of green. Like getting decor ideas for the different seasons… Oh, and how I’d love to have the thick, substantial baseboards. Pretty!

Let’s preface this with I HATE that painting on the wall. Ugh. Bad idea. And I’m not sure how I feel about everything else being light except for the walls? But I do love the nailhead trim on the chairs… 🙂

And this last picture is appealing to the geek in me…

Theodore Roosevelt renovation

Apparently the whitehouse gripped my love of this blue long before I was even a thought, back in 1904. 🙂 Who wouldn’t love herringbone floors, a huge crystal chandelier, and the beautiful blue walls? However I think I’d nix the gaudy gold asap…

____________________________________________

*Note: Some of these came from my computer and are old inspiration photos so I don’t have a credit. IF you know what it is, I’ll be happy to update with the information. Thanks! 🙂

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. Love the blues… it’s going to be lovely. The darker colors just give a room such depth.

    Reply
  2. Those are all my photos of my house…just kidding. LOL

    I love your knew blue dining room and inspiration photos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

