RSS Feed

How To Organize

Posted on

Ok, so the title is a little vague and generic, but I’ve decided to share some of my obsessive organizational habits with you all… ah-hem, excuse me… y’all.

You see, I didn’t used to be an organized person. And my Dad still laughs at the thought that his daughter could be organized – I guess I can’t blame him after more than 18 years of living with an unorganized daughter. But something happened when I went to college and I had to share my space. All of a sudden clutter drove me CRAZY. In fact it may have spurred one of the very few fights I’ve had with my BFF twin.

Anyway, organizing has become something I am passionate about. And I use it as a coping mechanism when my world seems to be falling apart. Cleaning, organizing, and crafting can be so therapeutic. So I figure I’ll just get it out here on the blog to maybe help some of you who aren’t so great at it.

To start, here are a few tips I’ve found really helpful when it comes to helping others organize:

  • Realize organization is a HELPFUL tool and it shouldn’t be a source of additional stress or frustration. Getting started, I guess, can create stress/frustration… but the actual ‘end’ result should not create a constant frustration in your life — hopefully it will make it easier!
  • Utilize ALL of your available space. On a budget this can be tough because a lot of organizational products can cost a lot of money. This is where creativity and thrifting come in very useful.
  • Give everything a home – but keep it practical. (ie even though its not that pretty, it’s probably more practical to come up with some kind of mail storage closest to where you bring it in your house rather than putting it in a room furthest away from where you enter)
  • Be honest with yourself and your lifestyle. This applies whether we’re talking about organizing time, an event, or physical stuff. If you don’t have a true grasp of you and your lifestyle, your attempt at organization may very well prove to be frustrating and ineffective.
  • Learn to throw things away. Just because you throw something sentimental away does NOT mean you are tossing the memory out with it.

Be looking for some “How To Organize…_______” posts in the future. When possible I’ll try and keep the organization ideas decorative too – decorganiation? Sure… I’ll make up my own word! Hope this is helpful for some of you out there.

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. You are a great “blogger” Kylie!! I enjoy reading your posts. It’s so funny that you live down the street, but we keep up with each other via our blogs! Crazy, huh?! Hope to see you at the retreat this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

