RSS Feed

Quick and Easy Recipe: Calzones

Posted on

So, you don’t have to know too much about me to know I’m not a cook. For me, its overrated to spend hours slaving away in the kitchen to have all the food devoured in under 30 minutes.

SO – I’m all about quick and easy, and I try to keep our meals cheap and budget friendly! For my FoodNetwork fans, I love a mix of Rachel Ray 30-minute and Sandra Lee Semi-Homeade.

Oh, and the other thing I love to try is to create knock-off’s of my favorite out-to-eat dishes. Sometimes it’s a success, and sometimes it’s a big fat fail. Here’s one that has become staple in our house. It’s a knock-off of our favorite Mellow Mushroom Calzone and they are so simple I feel silly writing down a recipe.

Ingredients (for 2 LARGE calzones):

  • 1 Roll of Thin Crust Pizza Dough (Thick works, but you have to stretch it out)
  • Shredded Cheese (anything will work but we notice a big difference in store brand and kraft pizza cheese in this particular dish. My advice, pony up for the good stuff!)
  • Filling- here’s the beauty. Use WHATEVER you have leftover/on hand. We’ve done green peppers, pepperoni, hamburger, sausage, bacon, etc. Just make sure the meat is fully cooked before popping it in.

Directions:

Unroll the pizza dough on a greased cookie sheet (even if it is non-stick).

Cut the dough into 2 triangles. (or you could try 4 for smaller portions)

Pile on layers of fillings and cheese. (I’d guess we use about 1-1 1/4 cup filling in each of our calzones)

Fold the dough over, stretching it pretty thin so it will bake all the way through. Pinch off any excess and set aside.

Pinch the seams so you don’t lose your filling

Flip the calzones over so the seams and folds are on the bottom. Mostly this helps so it doesn’t pop open and it makes it prettier. The little one with cheese on top was the excess dough I pinched off when folding over.

Pop them in the oven and bake at 425* until they turn golden brown. Be sure to check the bottoms – you don’t want a gooey calzone.

Totally optional, but delish. Brush with butter, sprinkle with parmesan cheese and some garlic salt on the top. YUM!

Serve with warmed marinara sauce for dipping.

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

