RSS Feed

Gallery Wall… And A Tip

Posted on

A long time ago (Oct ’09) I posted about not knowing what to do with the walls in our kitchen eating nook.

The walls were still yellow (I love yellow, but the same color in the whole house made me a little sick of it!) back then. And I thought I wanted to stick with a ‘food’ theme so as to not get too personal. I want friends and family to feel at home and comfortable when they’re eating with us – not like they’re being bombarded with a million J&K pics!

But after seeing SO many gallery walls in magazines and all over blogland, I decided to go ahead and create my own! We’re clearly still working on things (ceiling paint, crown molding, etc) but I love the way it turned out.

The Details: The plate is from pier 1. The wall color is Graceful Grey by Behr Premium Ultra. I incorporated a few shots of us and the pooch (of course!) and some of our favorite places (Savannah, HHI, the beach — hmm, is there a theme?).

Lesson Learned: As with most home improvement projects, you learn as you go. As I was hanging the pictures (well, hubs hung them but I rehung them after I filled them with photos), they were hanging crooked on the wall.

See what I mean? They are level, but they aren’t sitting flat against the wall because they were versatile frames that can either stand up or be hung.

So I took the plastic-y foam stuff that they put between the picture and the frame backing and rolled it up, securing the rolls with a little tape.

Then I attached a roll to the opposite side that the frame support was on, like this:

And I hung the frame back on the wall… Whaddya know? It worked! Nice and even now.

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

5 responses »

  1. I love how you displayed everything on the wall!

    Reply
  2. This looks so great! I love the plate, too. I’ve totally been scoping that very plate out at Pier One.

    Reply
  3. I am SO remembering that tip. I hate having to pull of the stands!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

