RSS Feed

Italian Beef Sandwich Recipe

Posted on

Abby from Life with B & A posted a recipe last week that spoke straight to my stomach. Crockpot Italian Beef recipe? Count me in!

Here’s the recipe, as seen in her post here (adapted from food.com):

Here’s what you will need:
4lbs. bottom round beef roast
8oz. Balsamic vinaigrette or 8oz. olive oil and vinegar dressing
1 package of dry onion soup mix
Italian seasoning
Place everything in the crock pot and cook on low for 8 hours.

My Adaptations:

I didn’t add the dry onion soup mix because I don’t love THAT much onion flavor. I just tossed in a bit of season-all that had onion, garlic, and pepper instead.

I cooked the meat on high for 4 hours and it was still tender enough to shred with a fork. After I shred the meat, I placed it back in the crockpot on keep warm so it could absorb more flavor before serving.

My advice:

Buy a dressing that has a lot of flavor. I purchased a store brand dressing (also noted as lite) to save some money, but the flavor was so weak I ended up dumping straight balsalmic vinegar onto the meat before serving.

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. We love Italian beef. I make the 3-2-1 recipe – 3 lbs. beef, 2 packets of Italian dressing dry mix, 1 can of beer. I usually rub the mix into the meal and cook in the crock pot all day. Then I just tear it apart and let it soak up the juice for a 1/2 hour or so.

    It’s the most delicious thing and super Italian-y flavorful. I serve it with hoagies and mozzerella (and mustard for the husband). Yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

