RSS Feed

Chuck’s Fav Mac N’ Cheese

Posted on

I saw this on Emily’s blog awhile ago and emailed the recipe to myself.

Chuck's Favorite Mac & Cheese

Here is the original recipe, with my adjustments in green:

Ingredients

  • 1 (8 ounce) package elbow macaroni – I used closer to 12 oz or 3/4 box
  • 1 (8 ounce) package shredded sharp Cheddar cheese – I used white sharp cheddar
  • 1 (12 ounce) container small curd cottage cheese
  • 1 (8 ounce) container sour cream – I used low fat
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese – probably used closer to 1/3 or 1/2 c
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
 Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil, add pasta, and cook until done; drain.
  2. In 9×13 inch baking dish, stir together macaroni, shredded Cheddar cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream, Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper. I found it easiest to combine all the ingredients together and then stir in the macaroni, that way everything was more evenly distributed. Also, I forgot about the salt and pepper until time to serve. I think it was plenty salty, but next time I will add pepper. In a small bowl, mix together bread crumbs and melted butter. Sprinkle topping over macaroni mixture.
  3. Bake 30 to 35 minutes, or until top is golden. The top never really got golden, but it was bubbling around the edges so I went ahead and took it out.
Overall we really liked it. I added more macaroni than called for because the cheesy mixture looked like way too much for how many noodles there were. However, next time I will use the recommended amount of macaroni since it seems to steam off a whole bunch of liquid in the oven and ours turned out a bit dry, but still SO delish! I don’t normally like cottage cheese, but this was really yummy. 

Original recipe is from allrecipes.com

About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. Pingback: Delish Crock Pot Grilled Ribs… and a massive dinner bust « Laughter. Life. Us.

Leave a Reply

