RSS Feed

Delish Crock Pot Grilled Ribs… and a massive dinner bust

Posted on

Let’s start with the bad and end with the oh-so-delish. Ever since Kim sent me the recommendation ages ago, I’ve been a pinning fool. It is SO great for the more visual and less apt to remember. You can follow my boards by clicking here.

Crescent Sandwich Bust!

Anyway, I pinned this awesome hot sandwich idea. Looks yummy. I used roast beef and provelone cheese. I even made some au jus for dipping. They looked like the picture above when I pulled them out of the oven. I cut into it to make sure it was done and all I cut into was a big blob of warm dough. UGH! Cut them open, put them back in the oven for 10 minutes – the outside burned and the inside still wasn’t done. Ew. Major disappointment.

On to the much-much-much better and more successful attempt in the kitchen. This was a cooperative effort between me and hubs. I mixed up the rib seasoning and got everything ready to crock pot. He flipped it on when he went to work and finished ’em off on the grill that night. Y’all they were AWESOME! Some of the better ribs I’ve had. And finishing them on the grill – um, why hadn’t that ever happened before? I served it up with some of Chucks Fav Mac’n’cheese. If only I could share the smell. Or the taste. Oh, just call me up and come on over – I’ve finally found a drool worthy dinner I can make 🙂 Which is really unfair because the crock pot and grill master do all the work – but points to me for execution, right?

My iPhone doesn’t do these justice.

Crock Pot Ribs  {adapted from here}

  • 3 – 3.5lbs Beef Ribs
  • 1/4 c Ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp worcestershire sauce (or a little extra if you live in our house)
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 Tbsp of your favorite BBQ dry rub – We’re fans of Misty’s (or make your own)
  • Dash of Black Pepper
  • Pinch of Red Pepper Flakes

Mix all of the spices, sauces, and ketchup together in a bowl. Place the ribs in a slow cooker bag and baste them liberally on both sides. Cover and cook low for 8 hours (high 3.5 hours, but the ribs won’t be as tender). Discard all liquid after cooking.

Finishing Ribs on the Grill

Now for the really important, tedious, and TOTALLY worth it steps {I pulled this from somewhere on the web and emailed it to myself – totally forgetting to save the reference!}

  1. Spray the grill with non-stick cooking spray and heat to medium-high
  2. While the grill is heating, throw together a quick sauce mix or just use BBQ sauce from the fridge. For the make your own mix 1/4c Ketchup, 2 Tbsp Brown Sugar, 1 Tbsp Worcestershire, and 1Tbsp Soy Sauce — I know it won’t taste good on it’s own, but the ribs already have all the BBQ flavor, you just want something that will caramelize on the grill
  3. Place ribs meat-side-down onto grill
  4. Close lid, cook 2 minutes
  5. Flip and baste top (meat side) with BBQ sauce
  6. Close lid, cook 2 minutes
  7. Flip and baste top (rib side)
  8. Close lid, cook 2 more minutes
  9. Flip again, baste top (meat side)
  10. Close lid, cook 2 more minutes
  11. For the last time, flip (rib side up)
  12. Close lid, cook 2 minutes
  13. Pull off grill and try to catch the drool before you embarass yourself!
About Kylie

I'm a creative girl, decor-ganizer, social media junkie, and believer in simple significance. I have an addiction to starbucks and the Nebraska Huskers. I call 'home' an old ranch with my college sweetheart turned husband and our fur-baby, Toby. Stop by our blog jkhenry.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. What a bummer about the crescent roll sandwiches. I wonder if you could adjust your oven temperature to make up for it. Strange!

    The slow cooker recipe sounds great. I’m always looking for something in the slow cooker (cause I’m a lazy cook).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

